About Certifcation

Municipalities in Maryland can currently work toward one level of certification.  Certification means a municipality has made a commitment to sustainability and succeeded in implementing significant first steps, and municipalities are encouraged to exceed the minimum requirements and make ongoing progress in additional sustainability categories to become a state-wide and national leader.



  • Green Team

  • 150 points

  • 2 out of 8 priority Actions

  • All Mandatory Actions


  • Certification is valid until December 31st of the 3rd year following Certification 
  • Communities may recertify during any program year prior to their certification expiring

  • Communities that were previously certified may certify at a higher level when Sustainable Maryland converts to tiered certification classifications


Each level of certification requires the establishment of a mandatory Green Team.  Municipalities accumulate points for taking actions in a variety of categories.  Along with attaining a certain number of points, a number of “priority actions” must be completed in order to qualify for certification. In addition, all "mandatory actions" need to be completed to obtain certification.

There are a variety of actions municipalities can take to become more green and sustainable to earn certification with Sustainable Maryland.  As indicated, priority actions must be completed, and can be chosen from the following actions:

  • Community Gardens
  • Municipal Energy Audits
  • Municipal Carbon Footprint
  • Evaluate Current Purchasing Practices
  • Green Purchasing Policy
  • Vendor Preference Statement
  • Stormwater Management Program
  • Create a Watershed Plan

All actions taken by municipalities to score points toward certification must be accompanied by documentary evidence and will be reviewed by the project partners. Only efforts that meet the standards described in the actions will be accepted and counted toward certification.  Actions include ordinances, programs, policies and procedures, and facility improvements.  To assist municipalities in their efforts toward certification, each action has detailed resources and step by step “what to do” directions for completing the action. 

Once your municipality is certified, the certification is good for 3 program years, at which time your municipality will need to re-certify.  However, a municipality may re-certify at any point prior to this third year.